Architectural highlights and a peaceful setting Ansfelden parish church and clergy house

The exact year the Roman Catholic parish church of St Valentine opened its doors is not known. However, it is believed that this place of worship dates back as far as the year 764, after St Valentine’s relics were sent to Passau.

Ansfelden c Linz Tourismus Tom Son

The planning and construction of the baroque clergy house on the same site was commissioned much later (1669) by parish priest Matthäus von Weißenberg, overseen by Italian master builder Carlo Antonio Carlone, who also designed the reconstruction of the St Florian Monastery. It was not until 1707 that the clergy house was finally completed. From then on, it would house, among others, the parish priest’s residence. It was also at this time that the parish church underwent a baroque refurbishment, and a high altar was added. The church’s namesake, St Valentine (patron saint of epileptics), is depicted on the high altarpiece.

These many years of communal worship and the events that accompanied them have left their mark on the church and clergy house. To preserve its iconic beauty, major refurbishments to the church were undertaken between 1970 and 1980, and the clergy house underwent a general refurbishment between 2011 and 2013. 

Both the parish church and the clergy house are among Ansfelden’s historically listed sites. The two storeys of archways and the stucco work on the first floor of the clergy house are a particular highlight.

Ansfelden parish church 
Augustinerstraße 3
4052 Ansfelden

Clergy house Ansfelden
Ansfeldner Straße 11
4052 Ansfelden
Tel.: +43 7229 871280
E-Mail: pfarre.ansfelden@dioezese-linz.at  
www.dioezese-linz.at/pfarren/ansfelden/